For The Love of Bacon and Cupcakes

20140209_193733

Alrighty! Let’s shake, rattle and roll!  Here is my very first blog post on Bake, Gobble & Run.  Who would have ever thought that I would start a blog?

Certainly not me!

When I planned this first post in my head it was going to be very different.  I  was experimenting with  a new recipe that I was sure would be a hit, and just in time for Valentine’s Day.  I had envisioned these fabulous pictures of what I produced but…it was a flop.  And so was the second thing I tried –  I have a love-hate relationship with cake pops.  I will continue to work on those two recipes and will blog about the success of them as well as the road of trial and error that will lead to that success.

In the meantime, bacon has saved the day and when my youngest son tasted this cupcake he said: “Mommy, you did good!”

I have been contemplating this recipe that I pinned awhile back but had not gotten around to trying.   Since the first time I saw a recipe for a cupcake with bacon I have seen several variations.  My recipe started with the one posted here:

http://iheartcuppycakes.com/2012/02/18/french-toast-and-maple-bacon-cupcakes/

I find it ironic that that my first blog post is based on this bloggers “goodbye” blog post.

20140209_193806

So here is the recipe and the variations I made due to lack of certain ingredients.

French Toast and Maple Bacon Cupcakes (Recipe adapted from iheartcuppycakes.com)

INGREDIENTS

For the cupcakes

3/4 cup unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), at room temperature (I also added some bacon drippings) **1 cup sugar 1 1/2 cups cake flour, sifted **1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder **1/4 teaspoon salt **1/2 cup milk, at room temperature **1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract** 1 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg (I used 1/2 teaspoon of ground, bottled, not fresh grated nutmeg) **1 teaspoon cinnamon **3 large eggs, at room temperature, separated (I also added some syrup to the batter.  I did not use pure maple syrup because today I refused to pay $8 for a bottle of syrup even though I know it would have been soooo good.  Maybe next time.  When I do get  near the point of actually selling what I make then I will definitely make sure the ingredients are  superior. But for today Mrs. Butterworths served well.)

For the maple syrup buttercream

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature.** 2 3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar** 2 teaspoons heavy cream, at room temperature** 3/4 teaspoon maple extract (The store I went to today did not have any maple extract whatsoever.  Kinda ticked me off because I know I have seen it there before…when I did not need it.  So I just used more Mrs. Butterworths syrup, probably 2-3 tablespoons worth.) **bacon, cooked and crumbled, garnish (For this recipe I sprinkled a little brown sugar on the bacon before cooking it in the oven to make a candied bacon for the garnish, which I then sprinkled with a small amount of course kosher salt). **extra maple syrup, garnish (…or Mrs. Butterworths)  

So here is what you do:

To make cupcakes–

Preheat to 375 degrees F. Line the cupcake pan with liners.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Set aside. 

In a small bowl (or a pyrex measuring cup) whisk together the milk and vanilla and set aside. 

In a standing mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment (or hand mixer), combine the butter and sugar and mix on low speed until well incorporated(I added the bacon drippings with the butter).

Add the egg yolks to the creamed butter one at time, waiting for each one to be fully combined before adding the next. 

Reduce the speed of the mixer to low. Alternately, add the flour mixture in 3 additions and the milk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Continue mixing until batter is smooth. Set aside. 

In a different bowl, whip the egg whites on high speed, using the whisk attachment, until stiff peaks are formed. (This step reminded me that I need to buy a 2nd bowl for my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer.  I had to scoop the batter into another bowl and wash out the bowl for the stand mixer to whip the egg whites). Working in 3 batches, using a rubber spatula, fold the egg whites into the cupcake batter, until just combined. (I had never did this step with cake or cupcakes before.  Let me tell you that this made for a wonderfully light and fluffy texture.  I will be doing this with most cakes from now on!)                                                                                    

Fill cupcake liners about 1/2 full. (Yeah, most of mine were more than 1/2 full but it turned out ok, no spillage). Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of the cakes comes out clean, about 20 minutes.  Remove the cupcakes from the oven and cool completely before frosting. 

  20140209_182026

To make the buttercream–

In a standing mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment (or with a hand mixer), mix the butter and sugar on low speed until combined. Continuing mixing until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Reduce the speed of the mixer to low. Add the heavy cream and maple extract(or syrup). Raise the speed to high and mix briefly until fluffy (scrape down the bowl occasionally). Pipe frosting onto cupcake. Garnish with crumpled bacon and a drizzle of maple syrup.

And there you have it folks!  Maple French Toast Bacon Cupcakes!  

It is an interesting flavor combination but I really like it and so did the family, especially my young one who looooooves bacon and looooves french toast.

20140209_192649 20140209_192659

And on that note I am headed to dreamland.  My alarm clock is set for 4:30am and it is almost 11:30pm.  I am going to have to plan these blog post much earlier in my day Hahaha.  Good Night!

One thought on “For The Love of Bacon and Cupcakes

Share your thoughts on my thoughts

