Donuts and Coffee…In One Bite!

unnamed

I absolutely love the combination of donuts and coffee.  I don’t know why they taste so good together but they were made for each other!  So today I tried making donuts for the first time.  Now I am picky about donuts.  I am not really a fan of cake-like donuts.  My favorite is Krispy Kreme’s glazed donut.  The light fluffy texture and the thin layer of glaze is splendid.  So when I decided I wanted to make donuts I wanted one as close to this texture as possible. But I also wanted to add my own twist so I decided to top some with a coffee flavored glaze! YUM!  This recipe makes A LOT of donuts so you can always cut it down.

If you give these a try come back and leave a comment to let me know how they turned out!

Glazed Donuts: Adapted from http://www.instructables.com/id/Krispy-Kreme-Donut-Doughnut-Recipe/

3 (1/4 ounce)  packages yeast  – I used “Quick Rise”
1/2 cup warm water  (105-115F )
2 1/4 cups  milk, scalded, then cooled
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3 eggs
1/2 cup  shortening
7 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
canola oil for frying

Plain Glaze
1/2 cup  butter
3 cups  powdered sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons vanilla
6 -9 tablespoons  milk (The recipe indicated evaporated milk but at the last minute I realized I did not have any so I just used whole milk)

Coffee Flavored Glaze

For this I used the recipe above but replaced the milk with a strong coffee.  I probably used more than 9 tablespoons though.  But you can adjust the consistency by adjusting the amount of liquid vs. powdered sugar.

What to do:

Add yeast to the warm water and let it rest.

In the meantime scald the milk, either on the stove or in the microwave and let it cool (scalding the milk helps the yeast rise).

Combine the yeast, milk, sugar, salt, eggs, shortening and 3 cups  flour.

Beat on low for 30 seconds, scraping bowl.

Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.

Carefully stir in remaining flour until smooth.

Cover and let rise until double, 30-60 minutes, depending on the yeast you used.  I went about 50 minutes and my dough was ready to come out of my bowl. (I love the chemical reaction of yeast.  I get giddy when my dough rises.  weird, I know).

Next, turn dough onto floured surface; roll around lightly to coat with flour.

Gently roll dough 1/2-inch thick with floured rolling pin. (I did not pay attention to how thick I was supposed to roll.  I rolled it out too thin and my donuts weren’t as fluffy and big as I had hoped, but still good).

Cut with floured cutter of your choosing.  Separate donuts and holes, as they take different frying times.

Cover and let rise until double, another 30-40 minutes.

donuts

While you wait you can make the glaze.

Melt the butter and stir in powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth.

Add milk (or  coffee) until desired consistency is reached.

After the second rising time is complete you are ready to fry these babies up!

Heat your oil to 350F .  A thermometer makes this part fool-proof, and you can monitor the heat to make sure it stays in this prime frying range. After my oil reached 350 I stopped paying attention and I overcooked some because my oil got really hot, about 420F

Carefully place the donuts in the oil.  Cook on each side for about one minute.(unless you let your oil get too hot then you may only need about 30 seconds each side).  Use chopsticks  or the handle of a wooden spoon to flip the donuts and remove them from the oil.

Place donuts on a rack or paper towels to drain.

Now you are ready to dip them in the glaze.  You can choose to glaze just one side or all around.  Place them on a rack to set.  My plain glaze was too thick at first.  Still tasty but not the thin layer reminiscent of Krispy Kreme.  So I thinned it out with a little more liquid to get the consistency I wanted.

If you give these a try come back and leave a comment to let me know how they turned out!

glazed coffee glazed

Share your thoughts on my thoughts

