Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies

20140309_160157

One of my son’s favorite snacks is Oatmeal Creme Pies so I decided to try to make a homemade version of these and they turned out pretty good.  There are several different versions of this easily found online.  The one that may most closely match the store-bought kind uses margarine and Marshmallow Fluff, two things I never buy.  I prefer real butter for every thing and I have just never bought the fluff stuff before.  Nothing against it.  I just haven’t tried it yet.  So I opted for a recipe that uses real butter and ingredients for the cream that I normally have on hand for things like butter cream frosting.  I got this recipe from one of my favorites on Facebook.  Her website is Bake or Break and she has wonderful recipes and posts!

http://www.bakeorbreak.com/2012/03/oatmeal-cream-pies/

I used her exact recipe so I am not going to re-post.  I just wanted to share the results with you all.  Click on the link and visit her site to check out the recipe.  The only thing I would have done differently would be to follow her directions and use tablespoonfuls of cookie dough when placing them on the baking sheet.  I used my cookie scooper which is larger, therefore making larger, thicker cookies.  I think they would have turned out better smaller.  But they taste is great, and my son agrees!

One thought on “Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies

Share your thoughts on my thoughts

